Terms and conditions of Use - As at 29 June 2010
CAUBO staff reserves the right to monitor and review all information shared and all documents uploaded in the CAUBO CyberCommunity including any items that appear in Secret Groups. CAUBO reserves the right to delete any information that is deemed inappropriate. CAUBO reserves the right to remove any member from the CAUBO CyberCommunity whose behavior is deemed inappropriate. By participating in the CAUBO CyberCommunity you agree not to:
As a CAUBO CyberCommunity member you also agree to report to the CAUBO national office any abuse of the site by any members as per the above description.
Registration, accounts and passwords:
The CAUBO CyberCommunity requires registration. Should you choose to register for the CyberCommunity or related content you agree to provide accurate and current information about yourself as required by the relevant registration process, and to promptly update such information as necessary to ensure that it is kept accurate and complete. You agree to be responsible for:
Further, you agree to notify CAUBO of any unauthorized use of your password or account. CAUBO will not be responsible or liable, directly or indirectly, in any way for any loss or damage of any kind incurred as a result of, or in connection with, your failure to comply with this requirement.
Information shared in the CAUBO CyberCommunity:
We have taken steps to keep your personal information secure: Your personal account information is maintained on a secure server with appropriate firewall protection and security.
Your personal information:
By registering for the CAUBO CyberCommunity, you agree to share the following information about yourself with other CAUBO CyberCommunity members:
The information you share with colleagues:
You control the information you share in the CAUBO CyberCommunity
As a CAUBO CyberCommunity member you are solely responsible for the information you choose to share on the site. Please ensure that you are always aware of the privacy level (Open, Moderated or Secret) of the group in which you are sharing information, documents and/or resources. All information shared in an Open group is visible to all CyberCommunity members. The 3 privacy levels are defined as follows:
An Open group is open to all CyberCommunity members to join and all information posted in the group (including documents and discussion) will be visible to all CyberCommunity members.
Participation in a Moderated group will be by invitation only. Only CyberCommunity members invited by the Manager will be allowed to join the group. Information posted in the group (including documents and discussion) will be visible only to the members of the group. However, the existence of the group will be visible to all CyberCommunity members and they may send a “membership request” to the Manager to join the group.
Participation in a Secret group will be by invitation only. Only CyberCommunity members invited by the group Manager will be allowed to join the group. Information posted in the group (including documents and discussion) will be visible only to the members of the group. The existence of the group will NOT be visible to CyberCommunity members and they will NOT be able to request to join this group.
Responsibility of group Managers:
When a group is created, the originator (the group “Manager”) will be able to choose a privacy level which will be associated to the group (Open, Moderated or Secret). The group Manager is responsible for the privacy level selected and is responsible for moderating who can join the group whether by invitation and/or by “membership requests”.
Opting out of the CAUBO CyberCommunity:
You may opt out of your CAUBO CyberCommunity account at any time. Once you opt of the CAUBO CyberCommunity you will no longer be listed in the directory of users and will no longer be able to participate in groups. Please note that if you opt out of the CAUBO CyberCommunity past messages and other content you have previously posted to any groups will remain, unless you specifically delete them.
Please review the “How to” section of the site for details on how to opt out of the CAUBO CyberCommunity.
Opting out of a CAUBO CyberCommunity group:
You can choose to leave a CyberCommunity group at any time. Each group is a separate entity, so when you “unsubscribe” yourself from a group you will continue to receive materials from other groups you belong to. When you remove yourself from a group, past messages and other content you have previously posted to that group will remain, unless you specifically delete them.
You can continue to belong to a group and turn off all email notifications at any time. You will no longer receive alerts of new discussions, resources, etc. You will then rely strictly on occasional visits to the site to view and read about the latest topics.
Please review the “How to” section of the site for details on how to opt out of any CAUBO CyberCommunity’s group and on how to manage your notifications for any group.